Limbo

11833

I’m doing the post-Ironman limbo lately. This is always a weird time for me. On one hand, I look forward to the time off from scheduled workouts and the routine of training each day. On the other hand, I sort of lose my mind without that structure.

In the past few weeks, I have done the following (in no particular order):

  • gone to Masters swim for the first time in almost one year – it was fun. I’m coming back this week.
  • raced a sprint tri – this experience led to me attending Masters swim because I am so tired of getting outswam.
  • run 20 miles just for “fun” – turned out to be not-quite-so-fun since I neglected to fuel and hydrate properly.
  • gone on a hike exploring the local trails with the kids – awesome.
  • done some pro bono legal work for the flood relief effort.
  • lifted weights for the first time in I don’t know how long – abs hurt for days afterwards so I haven’t been back yet.
  • read a book – “Blessings” by Anna Quindlen – good read.
  • sat around
  • started some organizing around the house that has been neglected for an embarrassingly long time – ok, I haven’t really started it an a concrete way, but I have thought about it a lot.

I realized that I am feeling more “off” than usual after this past race because this fall is the first time I haven’t trained for an Ironman since I started the sport in 2010. So it’s the first fall since ’09 with no Ironman. We have some of our best weather of the year in the fall (biblical floods notwithstanding) and the kids are back in school. It’s a great time to be training. I have thought about a late season 70.3 or maybe duathlon nationals in Tucson in October, but I haven’t made any plans yet because I am getting ready to shake things up.

I’ve decided that I’m sick of training the same way with the same results. It’s time to make serious progress on my swim and bike. As much as I want to get out and train and race again, I know in my heart that I want to reinvent myself before I face a tri start line again. It’s like I always tell people (well, mostly I just say this to Mark who is as big of a creature of habit as there is), “you can’t expect to train the same way and get different results.” In order to get different results, you have to do something differently.

I am getting ready to do some things differently. That’s probably what some of the list above is about. Trying new things to see if I like them and if they might fit into my routine once I am back at it. In the meantime, while I’m figuring it all out and deciding what 2014 will look like, I will probably continue to do things that I didn’t make time for while I have trained for Ironman (after Ironman, after Ironman).

Hopefully by the time I am ready to be “back”, my house will be organized and I will be on the way to a faster swim split.

DSCN0075

Leave a Reply

